Food and Drinks, Recipes

Homemade Almond Milk for the Almond Lover

Almond milk is my favorite.

It’s sweet and creamy and loaded with nutritional benefits from the almonds like protein, fiber, magnesium, vitamin E, copper, calcium, iron, phosphorus, and B vitamins.

I was surprised to know that you could actually create almond milk by yourself when I saw it on websites! You don’t even need any fancy processing equipment – well, besides a blender, I guess. Some people used a food processor, but I used our blender for this.

I first found out that you could make one when I visited a website created and managed by a friend I met last year in a Book Gathering event (Hi, Mitzi!) and saw that they made their own almond milk! (Check out their other healthy and yummy recipes too, guys!)

I based what I did by referring to their recipe and other sites I bookmarked for reference.

Ingredients: 

  • 1 cup of raw almonds
  • Water
  • Ground Cinnamon
  • Honey

Equipment:

  • Bowl for soaking the almonds
  • Blender
  • Strainer
  • Container

Instructions:

DSCF2980

Soak 1 cup of raw almonds overnight in a bowl. Make sure that they’re all covered with water; this will soften them for blending. The almonds I used still had their skin on, so the outcome may yield a rather light brown color instead of white.

Once the soaking is done, rinse and dry the almonds afterwards. You’ll find that the soaked almonds look a little bigger, more plump, and more saturated in color.

DSCF2971

DSCF2975

Put them in a blender with 2-3 cups of water. (If you want your milk to be thinner, you can add more water.) Blend until you get the consistency that you like.

DSCF2978

DSCF2979

Pour the mixture into a clean container through a strainer. I read that you should use a nut milk bag or a cheese clothe, but since we didn’t have that, I used a strainer instead.

(I’m sorry I have no picture of this step – I had to press the almond pulp with my fingers hard against the strainer to get all the extra milk!)

Transfer the milk to a cup or jar of your choice, then refrigerate. Serve with ice, a dash of ground cinnamon, and honey, to sweeten. You can also use the milk to blend with other fruits to make a nutrition-packed smoothie, just like what we did before. Add some natural peanut butter and a banana – my favorite combination for shakes.

DSCF2986
Our almonds and water 1:2 ratio, if my memory serves me right, made around 2 cups. I just used this tiny jar, because it’s cute. 🙂

Based on my experience, homemade almond milk will stay fresh in the refrigerator for up to 3 -5 days. But I suggest that you consume it immediately. You can serve it to your family and friends when they come visit.

 

I just love the thought of preparing our own food – and milk! – for our loved ones. You really put in time and effort to produce something nice, special, and delicious for them. You can ask for some feedback too from them if they find the milk is creamy or thin or just right.

To avoid wastes, feel free to use the leftover almond pulp for batter or making granola too. I kept them in a container in the refrigerator.

Now, you don’t have to buy almond milk from the grocery anymore! I found out too that you can make pistachio milk from home as well. My Mom loves to eats nuts as they are though, so when she saw me blending 3 cups of almonds one time… Well, let’s just say I’ll just use 1 cup at a time.

Maybe someday, I can try to make our own almond butter too. The almond butter in the grocery costs so much! Haha!

Anyway, happy almond milk making, guys! They’re a great addition to a wholesome lunch or dinner with the family or with your friends.

DSCF2987
Cheers!

You may view more almond milk recipes too from these helpful websites like Pixel Pear: The Kitchn and Oh She Glows.

Leave a Reply

