Lifestyle, Reflection

Starting your Journey III: How can you take care of yourself?

This post is the third from a three-part series on starting our health journey. You may read the first post here and the second one here.

For my last question in this series, I want to ask you:

“How can you take care of yourself, so you can take care of others?”

CC_How can you care for yourself_Blog

Now, you can assess what are the things you are currently doing to maintain your health. You can write them all down regardless if it’s positive or negative.

Before I took my 90-day weight management program, these are the negative things I did: I succumbed to my sugar cravings, I did not work out the way I used to before, and I ate fast food almost every day.

Before I was diagnosed with acid reflux in 2012, I used to eat food with preservatives, I skipped meals, I ate oily food, I did not let myself rest because of academics and extra-curricular commitments, I drank soft drinks and powdered juice drinks, and I did not work out at all.

But that was all in the past: today, I can assess that I have been eating the right portions of food for my body, I lessened my rice and bread intake, I don’t eat junkfood nor food with preservatives, I take time to read more about health and wellness, I work out at least three days a week, I allot time for prayer early in the morning, I wake up earlier, and I rest when I know my eyes and body are tired.

Evaluation

Evaluate where you are today, and see what needs to be changed in your routine and mindset. (Your attitude when it comes to health plays a big role too!) How do you view health, food, and working out? See if the actions you will take coincide with how you define health and if it complements your motivations.

I find that when I am taking care of myself more and I am in good condition, I can help my Mom and Dad more with chores around the house and tasks with our business and other errands. So I view health as something that helps me in attending to the needs of others.

When doing your assessment, don’t limit it to just the physical. Health can be determined emotionally, mentally, and spiritually as well. Have you been swayed by stress easily? Have you been working too hard and not giving your mind to breathe and take in all the information first? Have you been too busy lately to meditate or pray, however you view spiritual health? Now what can you do to change or improve the situation?

Taking Care of Ourselves

I realize that when I’m working too much under pressure and stress, I become blind to others’ needs, because I’m focused on the work.

One way to take care of myself is to take a step back from the computer or paper, and rest. After freeing myself from the work and pressure, that’s when I can help my Mom or converse with a friend with a well-rested mind and calm heart. Sometimes, honestly, a person cannot talk to me well when I am hungry, tired, or stressed out. And I didn’t want to be like that. 

When we’re caught up in something urgent, it’s easy to focus more on the task at hand rather than the people around us.

But that’s just when I am battling stress.

When I was still not actively pursuing a healthy lifestyle, the changes I did to recover from acid reflux was to consult a doctor, rest, cut off chocolates, junk food, powdered juice, softdrinks, and food with lots of preservatives from my diet. 

When I started working too last 2013, I decided to just walk from home to the office and then back to our home as a way to keep my body moving, since I only stayed indoors. I started jogging at a nearby park to get my sedentary lifestyle off of my shoulders. I watched YouTube videos on working out. I introduced lifting weights too to grow and tone my muscles just as my cousin suggested.

And just recently, I found out that I eat way too much than my body needed, so I learned the proper food portioning through my weight management program. I now eat less rice than I used to, and I consume more protein to help build muscles.

Your turn! How about you?

How can you take care of yourself so you can take care of others? What can you do to help yourself and the people around you? What are the things you need to change or improve in your lifestyle to achieve good health?

If you’ve decided to truly commit to a healthy lifestyle, you have to take action. Decision without action and commitment can only take you a short distance from where you are. Believe me, I’ve been at that stage for far too long because of my inconsistencies and laziness!

I hope that I was able to help you in reflecting about these aspects, my friend. It’s always good to ponder on these things before you take action to save you time and energy.

Time to start your health journey! No one else can do it for you but you. 🙂

“Take care of your body. It’s the only place you have to live.” – Jim Rohn

 

Leave a Reply

